closed for renovation

The Château de Joux is closed for 2021 season

 
 

Book your visit

Buy tickets online

Le Château de Joux is closed for 2021 season
Route du Château,
25300 La Cluse-et-Mijoux

WELCOME TO THE CHATEAU

The Château de Joux sits in exceptional surroundings, combining a thousand years of history and memories, a preserved natural site and a programme of events all in the heart of the Jura and Franche-Comté region.

CLOSED FOR RENOVATION

From the 30th August

INFORMATION FOR

visits and educational workshops

educational materials

In addition

nature activities in the Larmont area

events and family activities

family shows

coming soon to the chateau!

visits

events

Future museums

visits

events

Coming soon

spaces to rent

DISCOVER THE CHATEAU

Chateau de joux - éperon rocheux

THE CHATEAU THROUGH THE AGES

A major site steeped in history and military architecture, the chateau de Joux is an emblematic monument of the Franche-Comté region. Located 5km outside the town of Pontarlier and 15km from the Swiss border, the chateau looks down from a hundred metres above the Cluse pass, a narrow mountain pass that cuts through the Jura mountain range. This military and trade route connects roads from Champagne, Flanders and the Haute-Saône areas to Italy and Switzerland.

Discover its history
Joux - Toussaint Louverture - memorial

JOUX: A MEMORIAL

The chateau de Joux, beyond being a celebration of history and military architecture, is an emblematic memorial:

  • Memorial to the abolition of slavery and struggle for freedom, where the former slave Toussaint Louverture later to become a general in the French army and governor of Saint-Domingo (now Haiti) was held and subsequently died;
  • Memorial to conflicts and borders, having been besieged several times;
  • Memorial to an oral tradition of tales and legends arising from its imposing size and numerous mysteries;
Discover the legends
Chateau de joux - faune - neige en hiver

FAUNA AND FLORA AT JOUX

The rich natural history surrounding the chateau de Joux is both recognised and protected. A level 1 area of Special Scientific Interest (ZNIEFF I) includes the Gérot plateau and the promontory on which the chateau sits. A special conservation zone (ZSC), which is part of the European Natura 2000 network protects the site and the surrounding hills, hillsides and cliffs. And finally a biotope protective decree by the local prefecture (APB) provides further protection for the cliffs to the north of the chateau under the title “Limestone corniches of the Doubs county”.

Nature around the chateau
Chateau de joux - brume

2020 - 2030: A RENAISSANCE

The chateau de Joux is an exceptional and unique monument, witness to 1,000 years of the history of fortification and an important memorial to the liberation of the people.

Aware of its qualities,  the Grand Pontarlier District Council who owns and manages the site, has launched a programme to showcase the scientific, tourist and cultural value of this unusual historic monument. The programme will last 10 years, from 2020 to 2030 and will focus on two historical themes: the evolution of the fortress and the struggle for freedom. These themes will be integrated into the development of the site, the cultural and events programme, and the scientific policy.

The projects

THE PONTARLIER MUSEUM

The Pontarlier museum is closely linked to the history of the chateau de Joux in that it served as the urban residence for the governors of the site. The museum exhibits collections of military art and history and hosts a number of temporary events at the chateau.
Visit the museum

THE BLOG

Find the latest news from the Chateau in our blog articles. Keep up to date with the latest events and announcements!

More articles

Filter

SIGN UP FOR THE NEWSLETTER

Sign up for the newsletter

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwbZ9PumO9U
 
 

Le Musée de Pontarlier s'invite chez vous !

Mystères, sorcellerie... laissez-vous transporter au cœur des œuvres du Musée grâce à Rémi Lapouble et son conte inédit "Celle du moulin qui grince" créé à l'occasion de la Nuit des Musées numérique 2020.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwbZ9PumO9U
En raison des annonces gouvernementales du 28 octobre 2020, le Château reste fermé jusqu’à nouvel ordre
Route du Château,
25300 La Cluse-et-Mijoux

BIENVENUE
AU CHÂTEAU

Le Château de Joux vous accueille dans un cadre exceptionnel, qui conjugue mille ans d’histoire et de mémoires, un site préservé, un espace d’animations situé au cœur du Jura et de la Franche Comté.

VOUS ÊTES

visites & ateliers pédagogiques

supports pédagogiques

En complément

animations nature au Larmont

animations et ateliers familles

spectacles familiaux

bientôt au château !

visites

évènements

les futurs musées

visites

évènements

Bientôt disponible

locations d’espaces

DÉCOUVREZ LE CHÂTEAU

Chateau de joux - éperon rocheux

LE CHÂTEAU À TRAVERS LES ÂGES

Haut lieu d’histoire et d’architecture militaire, le château de Joux est un monument emblématique de la Franche-Comté. Situé à 5km de Pontarlier et 15km de la frontière Suisse, le château domine d’une centaine de mètres le passage de la Cluse, étroit passage naturel qui permet de traverser le Massif du Jura. Cette voie militaire et commerciale relie les routes de Champagne, de Flandres et de Haute-Saône à l’Italie et à la Suisse.

Découvrir son histoire
Joux - Toussain louverture - mémoire

JOUX : LIEU DE MÉMOIRE

Le château de Joux, au-delà de son histoire et de son architecture millénaire est un lieu de mémoire emblématique :

  • Mémoire de l’abolition de l’esclavage et de la lutte pour les libertés, pour avoir été le lieu de détention et la dernière demeure de Toussaint Louverture, ancien esclave devenu général de l’armée française et gouverneur de Saint-Domingue (aujourd’hui Haïti) ;
  • Mémoire des conflits et des frontières pour avoir été plusieurs fois assiégé ;
  • Mémoire d’une tradition orale de contes et légendes que son imposante stature et ses mystères ont contribué à forger.
Découvrir les histoires
Chateau de joux - faune - neige en hiver

FAUNE & FLORE DE JOUX

La richesse du patrimoine naturel autour du château de Joux est reconnue et préservée. Une Zone naturelle d’intérêt écologique, floristique et faunistique de type I (ZNIEFF I) comprend le plateau du Gérot et le promontoire du château. Une zone spéciale de conservation (ZSC), appartenant au réseau européen des sites Natura 2000 protège le site, les coteaux, falaises et corniches alentours. Enfin, un arrêté préfectoral de protection de biotope (APB) « Corniches calcaires du département du Doubs » vise les falaises situées au nord du château.

La nature autour du château
Chateau de joux - brume

2020 - 2030 : UNE RENAISSANCE

Le château de Joux est un monument exceptionnel et unique, témoin de 1 000 ans d’histoire de la fortification et haut lieu de mémoire de la libération des peuples.

Consciente de sa qualité, la Communauté de Communes du Grand Pontarlier, propriétaire et exploitant du site, a lancé un ambitieux programme de valorisation scientifique, touristique et culturelle de ce monument historique singulier. Ce programme s’échelonne sur 10 ans, de 2020 à 2030. Il s’articule autour de deux thématiques historiques : l’évolution de la forteresse et la lutte pour la conquête des libertés. Ces thématiques se concrétiseront dans l’aménagement du site, l’offre culturelle, événementielle et la politique scientifique.

Les projets

LE MUSÉE DE PONTARLIER

Le musée de Pontarlier est intimement lié à l’histoire du château de Joux en tant que demeure urbaine des gouverneurs du site. Il présente des collections d’art et d’histoire militaire et accueille temporairement plusieurs évènements sur le château.
Visitez le musée

LE BLOG

Retrouvez les dernières nouvelles du Château dans les articles de notre blog. Restez au courant de nos évènements et nouveautés !

Plus d'articles

ABONNEZ-VOUS À LA NEWSLETTER

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter